I thought I knew how to breathe!

We “glow” after our 2 mile runs!

Im becoming a runner! Seems simple enough right? I thought so initially but apparently, I have no idea how to breathe like a runner! 2 weeks ago I ran outside for the first time in life! Running inside on the treadmill is completely different than running outside in the elements. My running buddy had to kindly point out that I need to breathe through my nose and out through my mouth. Yet again, simple right? Too bad I have to actually think about doing that! Thinking about how I’m breathing and actually running to make sure I keep up with my friend takes up a lot of energy! I have no idea how these people do this ish on a regular basis! I’m actually in shock that I was able to complete a mile in under 10 minutes.

I have officially committed to doing my first 5K on June 9 and I am terrified! A 5K is 3.1 miles and right now I can barely hang in there at 2 miles without my nose running developing the beginning stages of asthma and trying not fall face down on the concrete!  By next week my goal is to get to 3 miles so it’s not hard to do it by the race date. At least that’s what my friends keeps telling me my goal is. Let’s just hope I get it together by next week!

Anyone have training tips for beginning runner? OR perhaps  how to make sure I breathe correctly and not burn up all my energy breathing wrong?

Leave a Reply

